Every year several languages die out. Some people think that it is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Numerous languages vanish yearly. A commonly held view is that this situation will make life more convenient as there are fewer languages. Although I have some sympathy for this idea, it is also true that the extinction of many languages can affect negatively.

On the one hand, it is hard to deny that language plays an essential role in making interactions. If there are fewer languages, it will trigger trade to rise between nations in the world. Australia and Singapore, for instance, speak similar languages so both countries easily understand each other. Consequently, there is an increasing trace between these two nations compared to other neighbors. In addition, the mother tongue can reflect itself in the tourism sector. If people travel without facing language barriers, they will get to know other cultures more clearly. One explanation for this, according to visitors' comments, they choose countries that are multilingual as they are likely to hesitate regarding language obstacles.

On the other hand, it is true that the disappearance of numerous native languages can affect to vanish of history. In other words, losing a language means losing a culture. Some nations have historical documents written in their own languages. If they are not translated into another language, they may face the danger of being lost. For example, a large number of previous generations forgot their mother tongue, and therefore, they also lost their history by mixing with other nations. Secondly, children may not keep up with their studies because it is hard for them to adapt to a new language. As a result, the illiteracy rate can grow in certain countries.

In conclusion, despite holding the view that the disappearance of several languages can make life easier, I also believe it will badly affect some nations.