Film stars and celebrities often share their views on public matters that have little to do with their profession. Is this a positive or negative development?

Public figures such as movie stars and celebrities voice their thoughts regarding social issues which may not be related to their occupations. This essay will address the advantages of these well-known people's opinions for the public and government.

Having public figures voicing their opinions relating to public matters is beneficial as their thoughts may influence how people perceive social issues around them. Cinta Laura, a well-known actress in Indonesia, for instance, had expressed her opinions about the significance of helping poor children to acquire proper formal education. This influenced many of her loyal fans, and now they have established a foundation called Cinta Untuk Indonesia. This foundation contributes to solving plenty of education issues around the country such as providing scholarships for underprivileged children to obtain university degrees and developing various schools in many places in Indonesia. This is real evidence of how famous people influence others to take part in solving difficulties faced by communities.

Another reason why the opinion of public figures is important is that many of them are well-educated and have broad insight regarding social problems. A famous and intellectual actress of Indonesia, Maudy Ayunda, often gives her suggestion about social issues in formal or informal meetings with the government or non-government organizations. Her ideal to solve the issues are often taken by the government as a consideration in dealing with the crisis in societies. This shows that these famous individuals are also capable to make positive contributions in solving public matters dealt with by the country.

To sum up, although some public figures express their opinion about problems unrelated to their profession, their voices may bring positive changes in the community such as attracting many people to contribute to solving social matters and giving the government recommendation to deal with the difficulties.