Full-time university students spend most of their time in class or working on assignments. However, some people think that it is important for students to get involved in non-academic activities on campus as well (for example, to join a sports team or take part in drama).

?To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this fast-changing world the ways of educating have become one of the most debatable issues among people. I although accepted that educators should provide several academic courses for students, I think non-academic programs have an array of benefits that have been overlooked.

Academic activities have some advantages which develop student’s abilities. First, educators plan and provide instructive courses training students and making them ready for their career prospective. In other words, students would acquire applied skills and theoretical knowledge which can foster learner productivity. Take the principles of management course, one of the remarkable disciplines, as an example. This knowledge could raise the chance of students to be employed in a well-paid job due to its exhaustive applications. Moreover, doing home works drive students to learn the trained courses more effectively because in this way students are more likely to diagnose their defects and solve them.

Although academic activities have some benefits, from my perspective, the effects of non-academic activities are more significant. Non-academic programs not only give rise to individuals' scientific flourishment but also enhance student’s morality and ingenuity. Due to multi-objective characteristics of students, they need some non-academic activities, including musical and artistic exercises to improve learning ability. Indeed, these kinds of activities lay the ground for students' brains to take in more contents and work more efficiently. As an example, playing an instrument like the piano could boost perception power and make students excel at solving mathematical problems and also increase the student’s mental discipline.

For the reasons mentioned above, I believe both academic and non-academic activities have certain advantages required for a well-round training system; however, educators should not underestimate non-educational programs' merits.