In the future, it seems more difficult to live on the Earth. Some people think more money should be spent on researching other planets to live, such as Mars. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is true that nowadays living on the Earth is becoming more difficult. While I accept that it is important to research on alternative planets to live, I believe that money should be better spent on other essential aspects of life.

For a variety of reasons, I agree that it is reasonable and necessary to do scientific research on other places for people to live. Firstly, the world population is increasingly huge, while the amount of land remains unchanged, so increases in population are likely to exceed the capacity of the Earth. This means that at a particular point in time, people might be unable to have accommodation. Secondly, the natural resources in the world tend to run out due to excessive use of human beings, which means that people will find it challenging to meet their basic needs in the future. For example, the scarcity of fresh water in Africa results in a lack of water for drinking or cooking.

However, I would argue that financial resources should be better used to improve people's quality of life. The first reason is that unemployment and poverty rates in developing countries are extremely high, so the governments of wealthy nations should spend some of their tax revenues on helping these countries. Financial support from affluent nations can significantly contribute to improving the life of people being impoverished. Additionally, it would be more important to spend money on doing medical research on dangerous diseases. Ebola, for instance, is a fatal disease that has recently killed many people in Africa, and therefore scientists should make every effort to create a vaccine that prevents the infection of this disease.

In conclusion, while I agree that conducting research on alternative human habitats is necessary, it seems to me that it is more important to improve people's living standard.