In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is predicted that no one will buy physical newspapers or books in the future because of the advancement of technology, those reading contents will be available online and free of charge. From my perspective, I partly agree with this statement. Even though many people tend to read online news instead of printed ones because it is free and quickly updated, the elderly will prefer traditional newspapers due to their ease of usage.

On the one hand, I admit that electronic books and newspapers are now more popular because they are free and people can read news quickly through the Internet. With a smartphone, it is easy for people to access the online news and they can read it everywhere and every time. Moreover, the speed of news updates is faster through online newspapers and people can immediately update hot news. Another reason why many people are interested in reading online is that some electronic newspapers and books are free of charge. As a result, the number of people who prefer online news has been increasing recently.

On the other hand, I still believe that online platforms are not suitable for everyone. There are individuals who cannot have the ability to understand and easily access the internet, for example, old people. The elderly find it complex to use smartphones and update the news via online newspapers because they cannot keep up with high technology. To illustrate, a 70-year-old person will not be able to update the online news expertly if no one instructs them how to use the phone. In addition, old people usually have eye problems so they cannot look at electronic screens for many hours. Therefore, the elderly tend to use physical newspapers and books.

In conclusion, it is true that electronic books and newspapers are popular because of their convenience. However, I still agree that these online sources cannot replace printed ones because it is more suitable for the elderly to use traditional newspapers.