Global warming is a big problem. What are the causes and effects of it?

Currently, global warming is certainly a topical issue as so many nations are seeing this pattern. From my perspective, there are two main causes and three key impacts, which I will outline now.

First of all, the main cause is probably the increase in carbon footprint. For example, CO2 is generated by the sheer volume of private vehicles commuting daily on the roads due to the demand of the public for transportation. Moreover, it stems from the burning of fossil fuels caused by the industrial activities of factories and power plants. Consequently, tonnes of CO2 are released into the atmosphere every year. The other factor that brings about global warming is deforestation. Forests accumulate large amounts of carbon dioxide, but when they are cut down, it would make CO2 remain in the atmosphere and form the greenhouse effect.

Therefore, the effects of global warming can be quite devastating. For one thing, it would harm the health condition of people. To explain, being resulted from air pollution, pneumonia is a serious disease if they contract. Furthermore, global warming could lead to natural disasters. Since high ocean temperatures are melting glaciers and ice caps all over the world, it will build up water capacity in our oceans, thereby threatening low-lying islands and coastal cities by creating extreme weather events such as floods and tsunami. Finally, the occurrence may affect the national economy. To clarify, countries like Vietnam that depend on agriculture to contribute to their economy can suffer from crop failures or livestock shortages owing to drought and erosion.

In conclusion, the causes of this phenomenon are primarily to do with the rise in CO2 and desertification; the effects involve the well-being of humans and the damage to the economy. Hence, it is recommended that policymakers need to reduce our dependence on fossil fuels and promote alternatives including solar and wind power. The other remedy is that individuals should only use personal transportation when it is really necessary. Instead, they could opt for public transports to help to protect the environment.