Government should spend money on railways rather than roads.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Traffic improvement is one of the most controversial topic in development countries, including my country, Vietnam. Government has spent billions of dollar to build and fix the road every year, yet the traffic situation is still an issue. There is an argument that Government should spend money on railroads rather than roads. I don't totally agree with this idea and I will explain my opinion clearly below.

First of all, railway or road, which one should be prioritized depends on the geographic and condition of the country or the area, as well as the demand of the society. For example, in mountainous area and for the purpose of mass transportation, railway should be considered to build first, as it will solve the problem of long distance and heavy transport. Follow up the new built railway, there will be more road for civil transportation. It will be different if there is need of daily transportation with short distance in plain area.

Secondly, solving the traffic issue is not about spending a lot of money in some situation solution, it is about spending money carefully in a holistic plan. In my opinion, building more short distance railway and advocate people to use it as daily transportation can also be implemented along with upgrading and building new road to solve traffic jam are just a part of the strategy to eliminate present issue we are facing everyday. There can be more factors and aspects to be concerned in this strategy, such as environment pollution, civil housing, means of transportation vehicles. Focusing in only one aspect can't make the sustainable effect.

To conclude, I suggest that building and upgrading railways and roads should be referred as a part of a more holistic strategy rather than consider them as the only solution of traffic issues.