Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Someone said money spent on railways must more than roads, and others said oppositly. In my opinion, investment for improvement of railway is more important. There are three reasons.

First of all, for environment. Everyone know that using public transportation is better for earth environment than using cars. For now, air pollution is a big problem in our society so that government must try to save environment. If they spend much money for extend or repair of roads it would promote people to buy cars and to use cars more than before. People could think that using car is more comfortable than using train and this can lead more air pollution by cars. Governments must not forget they have responsibility for take care of environment.

Second, for tourism. Almost of tourists use train rather than car. If the facility of station is bad or speed of train is so slow, it is hard to expect to they come again. I think especially the country where earn most money by tourism, must improve their railway. Once, I have visited Taiwan with my friends. I was very impressed their public tranportation system. The railway was pretty good, and other facilities like toilet were extremely clean. Cause of such experience me and my friends decided to go there again.

Finally, the third reason that I agree this opinion is for pair. Railway is can used by everyone who paid ticket price though the only car owners can use roads. Even if roads are clean, wide and compotable, people who have no car, cannot have any benefit by that.

In conclusion, I think investment for railway is more important than roads because of environment, tourism, pair. It is not that I claim spend money on road is unnecessary, of course investment for roads is essential, improvement of railway is first.