With a growing world population one of the pressing issues is that of feeding such a large number of people. Some people think that GM foods offer a viable solution to this problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, an increasing number of people are concerned about genetically modified food, which is considered as one of the remedial measures for food shortage caused by alarming population growth. I completely agree with the idea that this can be a good solution to have enough food for everyone, as GM crops can be more resistant to pests and diseases.

First, it goes without saying that scientists, by changing the DNA of plants, can make them more resilient to weather conditions and resistant to pests. In other words, it is the inefficient use of farmlands and the non-resistance of plants to some insects that is the main reason for food shortage in developing and underdeveloped countries. Scientifically modified crops, therefore, cannot be harmed by insects since they have an immune against them. According to a recent survey taken place in the University of Oxford, farmers no longer have to rely heavily on pesticides due to the introduction of GM seeds. Adding further, genetic modification can make vegetables bigger and more abudant, hence, agricultural land can be used efficiently. This means that the more people need agricultural lands to harvest non-DNA crops, the more lands require water and pesticides. As a consequence, using fewer pesticides and water can positively affect the environment in the long term.

That is not to say that GM foods do not have any demerits. In other words, some DNA structure of these foods are modified that has a harmful effect on the human race. For instance, not only do genetically modified foods increase the allergies among people, but they are also resistant to antibiotics. In addition, these seeds are expensive and some farmers cannot afford them, which enables big corporations to control the market price of vegetables and fruits.

In conclusion, I would argue that GM food is beneficial for human beings on many levels. Only by doing so, can the government address the problem of hunger and keep the environment sustainable.