Happiness is often considered difficult to define.Why is this ? What factors determine happiness?

Undoubtedly, defining happiness is a complicated one; meanwhile, people may feel glad during life without giving a meaning for it. This essay will look for causes which had been behind lack of definition; also, focus on the factors which affecting the feeling of satisfaction.

The foremost difficulty of realizing gladness is that feeling is an internal one; therefore, it is always different from one person to another. For example, in a study, which had been done at Harvard University; by asking people, from different nations, about meaning of joy; the majority of them couldn’t answer. In other words, people may have sense of satisfaction; but really they have difficulty to define it. Another reason, is that absence of scale to measure feelings like joy; furthermore, there is no abrupt point to measure sensations and remark it.

Social scientists divide factors affecting happiness into external and internal ones. Firstly, external causes like satisfied job, money, children and many others. Secondly, internal factors which are personality characteristics, like an ambitious one, and a gene determination of happiness. For example, in a research done in Cambridge University, ten years ago, included twenty thousand of people allover the world to remark causes which are responsible for gladness; about two thirds of people correlate their feeling of satisfaction to extrinsic factors only; and among them, money was the most important one.

In brief, it is a difficult task to recognize the term happiness ; that’s because, it is a sense from inside our bodies and there is no accurate measurements of feelings; Moreover, there are external and internal indicators which determine that feeling of happiness.