Happiness is often considered difficult to define.

Why is this? What factors determine happiness?

Many people think that happiness is very hard to explain. This is because people have different thoughts, and there are many elements that demonstrate happiness.

There are various reasons why people feel hard to define, but I believe it is because the way of people’s thinking is different. People grow up in different living conditions, such as being raised in a strict family or living in liberal conditions. Diverse living environment affects the way of their thinking, which influences their definition of joy. If you were raised in a close-knit family, your criteria for explaining joy definitely is a family. For example, I live in a harmonious family and I feel happy when my family spends time together.

In my opinion, the important factors that determine happiness are money, friends and health conditions. There are several important factors that determine happiness. Firstly, money is an essential factor in life, because without money we cannot do anything, like paying for the bills. In Korea, people usually say “Home is a happy place”, but unless you have enough money, you cannot enjoy your “happy place”. Secondly, “friend” is a significant factor of pleasure. When you share the joy with your friends, it doubles. Lastly, health is the element of pleasure. If you got serious diseases, you could not enjoy your life. For instance, you cannot live a normal life or you may suffer pain in a whole day.

In conclusion, because of the diversity of thinking, people define happiness in many ways. However, I think the financial condition, friends and health are the elements of happiness.