Healthcare should always be funded by governments and it should always be free for people to use. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this idea?

In the new millennium, there is a widespread concern among patients in terms of paying the expenses of their drugs, doctors and other related expenditure. In such a context some people, unlike many others, aver that healthcare should be free of charge and the budget should be provided by the administrative system. Nevertheless, this claim is acceptable to some extent not comprehensively.

On the one hand, the advocates of the free healthcare system mention that if the healthcare expenses eliminated by the government the destitute citizens could treat their diseases without constantly worrying about the cost. This could contribute to raising living standard among impoverished people. In addition to this, some special diseases involving cardiovascular diseases, cancers, respiratory diseases and etc. need permanent usage of expensive drugs which could cost a fortune in the long run. Therefore, if these drugs are available freely it may lead to curing severe ailments appropriately without enforcing excessive financial pressure on the patients and their family.

On the other hand, it needs a huge investment to obviate the expenditure of hospital, drugs and other related sectors. First and foremost reason mentioning by the opponents appears to be that the fund should be allocated more appropriately to preventive programs. In addition, if the healthcare is free for all the people it may cause they do not take care of themselves appropriately. A case in point is seen in some developing countries for some contagious diseases which their drugs are available freely but people do not consume them appropriately to eradicate that specific disease.

To sum up, according to the aforementioned remarks it seems that also providing free healthcare regarding some special diseases is quite sensible policy it is imprudent that it will be always free for all the people irrespective of their financial condition.