High school students are usually not good at managing money. What are the reasons? What are the solutions?

Money management is one of the most indispensable skills that all of us should acquire. However, it seems that high school students these days are not yet to carefully control their budget. This can be rooted from a number of reasons going to be examined in the following essay to find out some effective measures to help improve this issue.

Poor students’ control over the money they have can be put down to two important causes. Firstly, it is because of their being rebellious and innocent by age that has dug a hole in their pocket. Since adolescents often aspire to prove themselves as independent, they tend to avoid listening to their parents’ advice, which is meant to prepare them with fundamental knowledge to deal with the outside world. Thus, these students, still being ignorant, are more likely to be ripped off to drain their money out. Another culprit behind high school learners’ spending uncontrollably is the urges from the mass media. Undoubtedly, in this era of advanced technology and communication, individuals can easily catch sight of hundreds of advertisements varying from pop-ups, billboards or TVC. However, not all of them are able to bring us benefits. In fact, most ads try to encourage consumption in all age groups, especially the young who are often seen as being credulous and impressionable.

To answer the question raised by this problem among adolescents, the responsibility falls on both every parent and school to educate children about basic money managing skills from an early age. Children should be taught how to make the most of their pocket money instead of going through it in just a few days. And once they can learn this, adolescents might adapt much better to the ever-evolving world today. At the same time, more stringent regulations on advertisements should be enforced by the government to prevent inappropriate content from stimulating youngsters into conspicuous consumption.

To sum up, although it can be difficult to tell a high school student what to do with his money, some ways starting with the root causes can be implemented by not only parents or schools but also the government.