How have you contributed to HeForShe movement about gender equality?

In our world, the numbers of people suffering from sex inequality and sexism had been increasing over past few years while more individuals had been trying to demonstrate these problems. Sexual related problems exist worldwide and need a rapid solution. It also is commonly seen in Thailand and especially in Thai school where should be the safest place for children. We all the people have to be a first little step to make change to the world. I would like to make this little step by telling a story of mine and how I have been feeling since that far.

I completed my primary education at a school in Bangkok where people believed gender was not a big deal for students because they were too young to understand. On the contrary, it was the beginning of sexism and bullying among the children. Boys can play with girls, but a boy cannot play with group of girls, he would be called “ตุ๊ด” or “Tud” which meant gay. This happens to 5th grader. Moreover, this kind of bullying did not exist only in student-student relation, but also from teachers to students as well. I had seen some male educational staffs acted inappropriate with girls in school. I also experienced time when teacher called student with that T word in class and made fun of their appearance. The sexual harassment continues to happen even time flies.

Apart from that, more teenagers in high school and even grown-up have sexualized more frequently and commonly. Our society has changed in such unbelievable way. In Idaho, United States where I spent my year as an exchange student, transgender and any other kind of bisexual is unacceptable due to religious reason. I knew some of my friend were LGBT, but they had no right to express the way they were which was so sad. Back to Thailand, I have a group of friends and some of them are bisexual, I don’t think they are weird, should be seen in other way rather than the way we see all straight as human being. Not only LGBT population that suffers from this problem. There have been a ton of news published about female children get sexualized and sometimes were acted like male fantasy stuffs. For example, Billie Eilish, girl artist who just barely turned 18, was the top search in Pornhub after her birthday. This is sad and we all people have to feel regret. No one should be sexualized, not even in mind.

However, I still have experienced some tough situations when I accidentally make fun of them or people make fun of me. I had participated an online survey run by Harvard University which result was unacceptable and I regretted when I saw it said I had preference straight over LGBT. It was real, but that was time I say to myself to change. After the result of survey was out, and I felt regret, I decided to overcome the challenge an come up with serious talk to my friends about LGBTQ+. I did an online research about each gender that people expressed in their own way which made my notion of sex better. I did speak out as a representative of the topic about Inequality in Society which sexism was involved. All these things realized me once about people’s understanding. No one can make a big change, but everyone can start making change. That is why we have to start on our own and show them who and what we are. And after the knowing of HeForShe, I stood out and share my commitment to join this global movement for gender equality. Because this is the 21st century, we all have human right, gender equality and freedom should be reserved for all human being.

To sum up, I had been experiencing several sexual harassments. This world nowadays has been full of gender inequality. At the same time, there are people who stand out and raise for their and their friends’ right as human because this is not just women or gays’ issue, it’s a human rights issue. This world needs change from its popularity, it comes to the time where we all need an attitude toward gender. All mankind is equal, people everywhere need to understand and support the idea of gender equality.