How should we ensure that the television is a positive influence in the life of children?

It is true that Television is a great modern technology for entertainment and education. However, there are certain drawbacks that could be detrimental to children if people are not careful with the effect of it. Thus, there are several measures that should be implemented to retain the merit of TV.

First and foremost, parents should supervise their children while they are enjoying the shows. The adult might have a better understanding about whether the programs are appropriate for kids or not. This method would reduce the probability of being exposed to violent or adult channels, which could cause pernicious effect on children’s mind. In addition, setting a watching limit time is another great solution. Binge watch might not only impair the eye sight but also the mentality. For example, children might not distinguish real life and fiction, leading to hazard action like jumping out the windows. However, it is not easy for parent to control their children all the time since there are lots of works to do.

The joint effort of the government is also required. The frequency of adult programs and channels on TV, especially at prime hours from 7 pm to 9 pm, should be curtailed to ensure the positive impact of TV. Because most families enjoy the television together after dinner, thus at this time the authorities should only allow family-friendly shows to live on TV. Beside the programs, advertisement could also have a negative effect on children. Thus, those ads that provide fault information or encourage consuming fast food should be as well limited to ensure the well-being of children. A drawback of this solution is that it could be affect the developing of other programs due to drop in audience.

In conclusion, although protecting kids from negative influences of television is a hard task, it is possible if the government and individuals work in unison.