Some people believe that it would be beneficial if employees worked three or four days per week rather than five or six days. Why is this? Give reasons for your answers and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

In recent years, it is believed by some people if the working days in each week of employees are cut down to about four days, it would bring about more benefit for the staff member. There are several reasons for this notion as most people in modern era are leading a hectic lifestyle.

Firstly, it appears that if the work force of firms received more day-off, workers’ mental health would probably be improved. So much pressure from work that it often leads to stress-related illness such as mental breakdown or insomnia. With less day at work, it might enable employees to relieve stress, and thus result in better productivity, which will not only benefit the workers but also the whole organization. Therefore, the more time to recover the better the employee’s performance.

Secondly, given three to four days of working, it could help people attain work and life balance. Recent research shows that over 65% of young workers said that they do not have enough time with their family. In many developed nations, the work force has a tendency to overwork, which is deemed as a commonplace or a cultural of the Japanese, and left little time with family. This might affect the motivation of employees at work, resulting in lower productivity or, even worse, resignation. Therefore, if companies cut back one or two days at work, the life quality of employees is likely to be refined.

In conclusion, people believe companies members would receive many advantages such as work and life balance or stress relief, if they only have to work up to four days a week.