If people could choose between a life without working or a life spending too much time working, people would choose a life without work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Whether people choose not working lives or lives, which take individuals a great deal of time for work is a controversial issue. In my opinion, working is an intergral part of human's life, therefore, it is mandatory for people to work even jobs may constitute majority of their schedule.

There are several reasons behind the phenomenon that wokers investing a large amount of time and energy in working including working benefits, passion and personal background. The first point in support of this view is that people can receive additional income from extra hours. With more money received, working people are able to improve their living standard and live better off themselves. Likewise, by working longer time, workers can gain more experience from tasks, which allows them to achieve professional progression and climb high on the career ladder. Besides, some people are passionate about their work and have a tendency to commit resources for contributing more to organisations. If these individuals do not support their company enough, they may feel not deserving salary, perks and allowences that are given to them. Finally, some disadvantaged persons are unable to land a job that require standard working time, thereby accepting working additional time in exchange for the work. This is especially the case for impoverished people or individuals, who are not equipped with adequate qualifications. Thus, working or not is not optional for most persons, there are motivations for people working extended time.

Admittedly, there are still occasions when overwork can cause detrimental impacts on wage-earners' mental and physical health. It is common that job holders regularly experience stress and anxiety. This stems from the fact that fierce competition in labor market and heavy workload in modern workplaces constantly require woker's to learn and improve productivity. Likewise, people spending long hours working physically demanding jobs may encounter injuries. This is because people have their physical limit, thereby, long-time exposure to work places workers at greater risk of having accidents. Thus, people, who are busy with work are prone to different types of risk. However, given the enhancement in working environment and safety procedures, impacts from the development are alliviated. That is why busy working may not seem negative to employees for the time being.

In sum, working long hours is a popular movement in modern world. Therefore, I disagree with the idea that people opt for being unemployeed.