Improvements in health, education and trade are essential for the
development of poorer nations. However, the governments of richer
nations should take more responsibility for helping the poorer
nations in such areas. To what extent do you agree?
Undoubtedly the governments of developed nations should share the
responsibility of helping less fortunate nations. Different measures exist,
ranging from market access to direct financial payments or even medical
assistance. This essay will explain why certain measures are inherently
better than others.
Firstly, the most effective way to assist less developed countries is not
through health or education ‘handouts’. This method is flawed and only
offers temporary relief from long-term challenges; also this assistance can
be cut at any moment, leaving the country stranded. For example, economic
help from the UK to disadvantaged regions in Africa has gradually been
reduced since the onset of the financial crisis. Although some parts of the
continent may be better educated or in better health, the benefit was
short-lived, thus leaving the countries of Africa to look for other donors.
Commerce is, without doubt, the most effective type of assistance that can
be given. If the less developed country has the opportunity to develop trade,
then it can build strong capabilities that will serve it in the long term. These
strengths can develop the local economy and are more reliable than
education or health. For example, while trading with the richer country, the
government can search for other foreign markets to trade with. This would
offer more stability and diversification for the nation.
To conclude, assistance is definitely necessary for the poorer regions;
however, ‘hand-outs’ are short-term solutions. The optimal solution is to
offer market access so the region can produce goods and thus generate a
regular income.