An increasing number of schools provide tablets and laptop computers for students to use in school, replacing books and other printed materials like exams and assignments.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend.

Nobody doubts that we live in a changing world where old materials and equipments are replaced with advanced one. Education institutions especially schools are encouraging students to take the benefits of modern technology, imposing tablets and laptops to students, who are now escaping books and other printed materials such as assignments and examinations. Besides, these modifications have significant merits such as acceleration of learning and cost savings, while scholars opine that replacing exams might result insufficient career progress and addictions.

On one hand, two major pros of adapting modern technology could be accelerating of learning and saving of costs. Firstly, students get effective and available materials and resources from online, when they use computers and tablets. Moreover, many students enjoy reading articles, books and newspapers by using tablets, phones and laptop. For instance, a study conducted by University of Dhaka found that students like to avoid exams, but love to perform presentations. Secondly, the teaching techniques of instructors in online are effective because these instructors are well trained and qualified. Hence, the learning of students gets accelerated ultimately.

On the other hand, the main cons of accepting new technology in schools might be insufficient career progress and addictions. First of all, when students come in contract to laptop or tablet, they use these for entertainment purposes, resulting less concentration on studies. Additionally, motivations get negatively affected when students only focus on entertainment. For example, Dr. Anish Bhatt, a psychology lecturer of University of Gujrat, India stated that 79.45% school children used to watch TV programs by using computers. Another aspect could be additions of students while playing computer games frequently. Furthermore, students often enjoy watching movies online, having conversation with friends in social platforms that promote addiction towards particular technology.

In conclusion, modern schools are keen to replace printed materials and exams by adapting computers and tablets. Although this practice benefits students by accelerating the learning and saving of costs, addictions to games and insufficient career progress might result ultimately.