With the increasing popularity of computers and calculators, student literacy is decreasing dramatically. What are the positive and negative effects the progress of science and technology has brought about?

Development science and technology, such as computers and calculators, have affected many people from over 50 years ago. Both are bringing some benefits and drawbacks to the student literacy until now. Amongst of the result from these devices will be examined in this essay.

To begin with, student literacy is related to an ability from student to understand student comprehension of incoming information through reading some media resources, and listening to a radio instead watching a news television program. Most of the tools, which should help to improve student ability, are even shut down students’ cognition to truly grasp the incoming information through various kind media resources. All of the ease media in access already brought some shortcoming effects to student itself, which first and foremost are student creativity. For instance, they are being lazy to read some resources whose have a long story as well as to listen to a serious news TV program. By reading and listening, the creativity of student actually could improve significantly. Secondly is procrastination, they sometimes oversimplify their work because of their think that there is enough time to finish it. Even, most of them are only copy and paste the information from the internet.

Of the many shortcomings student literacy, however, there are some benefits to affect student ability to read and to listen comprehensively. By using the sophisticated appliances could make them fast to learn about something and increasing their productivity. The devices are able to help them as training tools to enlarge their student literacy. Using technology of computer, for example, they can easily check their understanding of reading article instead of their writing, or the calculator helping them to correct their calculation. In order to increase their understanding about literacy, teachers are primarily responsible from the issue of student literacy. The teachers should think deeply how they improve student literacy with collaboration between the way-their-teach and sophisticated technologies – computer, calculator, and the other devices.

To sum up, the development of science and technology are bringing positive and negative side equally. In specific to this issue, I believe that the advantages of using computer and calculator are more beneficial to the student to gain their ability in literacy. Yet, that depends on student itself and assistance from their teachers.