With the increasing popularity of computers and calculators, student literacy is
decreasing dramatically. What are the positive and negative effects the progress of
science and technology has brought about?
It has been widely noted that, with the growing use of computers and calculators both in
the classroom and in the home, the level of literacy and mathematical ability of students is
dropping. This raises serious doubts about the value of the progress of science and
technology. Here I will discuss the pros and cons of this question.
First of all, advances in science and technology have certainly brought about many
benefits for mankind. They have made our lives more comfortable and healthier. In
addition, they have eased the burden of work for most people and provided them with
more leisure opportunities, while at the same time increasing productivity dramatically.
Nevertheless, it cannot be denied that technology has some negative side-effects. As
mentioned above, with computers which check spelling, grammar and calculation for
them, students have little incentive to learn how to do these things for themselves. Also,
the availability of TV programs and videos encourages an unhealthy, sedentary lifestyle.
Another aspect of this issue is that technology may be good or bad, depending on how we
use it. For instance, dynamite may be used to make road construction easier, or it may be
used to kill people. Again, nuclear reactors can supply huge amounts of cheap electricity,
but if they are carelessly handled they can cause devastating pollution.
We can conclude that the progress of science and technology has both positive and
negative effects. What we must do is to make sure that the positive ones are encouraged
and the negative ones are eliminated as far as possible. Among other things, this means
that students are warned not to let computers and calculators do all their work for them.