With the increasing popularity of computers and calculators, student literacy is decreasing dramatically. What are the positive and negative effects the progress of science and technology has brought about?

Introduction of devices such as computers and calculators have brought a significant change in society and the sole reason for it is the advancement in science and technology. Being quite popular among young generation it may be of utmost use in education. However, with great invention comes greater responsibility thus it is necessary to eliminate the negative effects of it.

To begin with, the development of medicines, automation and many more can be accounted as the merits of the technology. Firstly, the internet can be used in various activities like searching, gathering knowledge which boosts up the literacy rate of a country. Secondly, automation has reduced the amount of work to a great extent thus ultimately benefiting the skilled sections of the community. Moreover, a real demonstration of scientific theories can be shown to the students to clear out their doubts and eventually help in raising the standards of education. For instance, a study in the UK showed a drastic increase in the intellect level of a primary pupil from 60% to an astonishing 82% by just giving examples of real-life scenarios.

On the other side of the coin, the story is different, the creation of laptops and calculators do have a pessimistic way on some. To add, the younger generation spends most of their useful time playing games which may prove science to be a curse and sooner or later causing a devastating effect on their brain and health. Furthermore, indulging in solving simple problems on phones may decrease the overall IQ of a person. To prove my point, a study conducted by the universities of Canada showed a damaging effect on the brain as a whole and 2% depletion of grey matter which accounts for the motor function of a being.

To sum up, though science proves to be a blessing in disguise to some it has more advantages and inventions of technology should be used in a diligent manner to set a good example for upcoming generations.