In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today's modern society, the majority of working people rely on fast food as this is the most convenient option. There is a heated debate about whether to impose a heavy tax on these items for the betterment in the health of the public. I strongly believe that instead of opting a way out like this could have agitation by the middle-class frames, so more methods should be brought into consideration.

To begin with, the government should take legal action towards it. Firstly, a duty should be increased to a certain level which will categorize it into luxuries which eventually have limited the demand and supply in the market. Secondly, the community needs to take a collaborative approach to educate their children about the detrimental effects it can cause to one's health. To illustrate, in Canada, parents have started a program in which a child is not allowed to have junk meals for one week in a month which drastically decreased the illness rate in the young generation by 40%.

On the other hand, implementing higher tax could trigger rebel nature among some parts of the country, to exemplify, in India, cities like Bangalore, Gurgaon and Hyderabad will be affected the most because the working sector which finds it easy will not have other alternatives when in a difficult situation. Moreover, daily wagers in this industry will face a huge loss that may alter the economy of a nation as well. To add, unemployment might be a bigger concern as to force taxes.

To conclude, it is advised to the administrators that taxes should be raised but to a satisfactory amount so as to protect the cause of public health as well as not snatching the jobs of people. In addition to this, other practices like a week off from this kind of diet will prove to be beneficial in the universal interest of civilisation.