Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to control growing numbers of car on the road. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Given a large number of personal vehicles, some people think that an increase in the cost of fuel will be the best solution for this issue. In my opinion, I wholeheartedly agree with this idea as other methods are no longer effective nowadays.

To begin with, several measurements from governments and organizations to reduce the growing number of individual cars have been of futility these days. One clear example is the failure in the authority’s attempt to lower car density on the road by extending the traffic network and infrastructures. This failure is due to the induced demand of people. When more roads are available, people are convinced that there will be more capacity for them to join the traffic, which will even encourage drivers to use cars more often. Thus, traveling vehicles on the street will be increased instead of a decrease as expected. In Ho Chi Minh City, for example, despite many overpasses have been established lately, gridlocks at intersections still occur because people assume such systems are built to invite more vehicles.

At this point, a rise in the cost of gas will be the only solution that prevents people from driving personal vehicles. By applying a much higher price for fuel, drivers will have to use their vehicles less frequently to save their own money. Subsequently, people will turn to use public transportations such as subways or electric trams to commute because these means of transport are more economical for individuals resulting in the lower number of vehicles on the street. Obviously, striking on people’s money directly is a more practical and more effective way to control the use and possession of cars.

In conclusion, I assert that a higher cost of gas consumption will definitely help deduct the growing number of personal vehicles.