Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people believe that current environmental problems are only tackled by governments and big corporations, individuals do not have any impacts on this phenomenon. Although many arguments are strong in favour of this view, I disagree with this point of view.

On the one hand, there are many environmental problems that only governments and conglomerates are able to cope with. Firstly, ozone layer depletion is such a problem that the development in science and engineering and policies can tackle. Nowadays, more and more policies to protect the environment are enacted, especially in Vietnam, one of the countries in the world having an enormous devastating effect on the environment, and this solution is truly effective. Furthermore, big enterprises are more concerned about their role in environmental problems and throw their weight behind this phenomenon to support governments in solving some large-scale environmental problems such as deforestation and climate change.

On the other hand, thanks to the development of the internet, more and more people know that environmental degradation is happening, and they have the capacity to save our environment. For example, if everyone no longer uses plastic bags, manufacturers will stop producing those bags and find other environmentally friendly materials to meet the demand of users. In addition, if everyone saves only one piece of paper every day, nearly million trees can be saved in one day. Therefore, individuals can make a big difference and should not be made light of.

In conclusion, I would argue that not only governments and big businesses but also individuals can save our planet.