Instead of requiring primary school students to do experiments themselves, schools should only allow them to watch experiments demonstrated by teachers. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that primary school students should be prohibited from directly conducting experiments as observing teachers’ demonstration would be sufficient. Personally, I strongly agree with the idea as elementary school students lack the necessary experiences and skills to handle some types of experiments.

On the one hand, primary school students should not be allowed to carrying out the experiments as they lack the fundamental characteristics for direct participation. Specifically, primary students are too young to comprehend the danger of mismanagement. Therefore, errors may happen during the experiments’ process, being detrimental to the students’ safety and negatively affecting the quality of teaching. Consequently, it is not optimal for students to perform experiments as safety and security are not guaranteed.

On the other hand, pure observation would be suitable for primary students because some experiments can be too complicated for them to execute. In fact, young students are easily attracted to novelty. Therefore, the long guidelines that are fundamental to conduct experiments would make them feel bored and not be able to follow, directly affecting the experiments’ procedures. This will in turn harness the studying pace and the quality of teaching. As a result, students should only be allowed to watch the demonstrations of experiments.

To conclude, despite controversial schools of thought on determining the best approach to teach students experiments, I endorse the hypothesis that primary school students should not be permitted to personally participate in them as they lack the rudimentary knowledge, characteristics, and skills to execute experiments successfully.