Some people use the Internet for medical help instead of going to see the doctor. Why? Is it a positive or negative development?

Some people prefer to seeking medical advice online to have a proper check-up with the doctor. Personally, the convenience that it grants people leads to the existence of this phenomenon. However, I endorse the hypothesis that this development is negative for its different levels of disadvantages.

Regarding the reason, people are increasingly seeking medical advice from the Internet for its superior convenience. In fact, many free forums are established to provide people with answers about medical problems. In this way, individuals can gain access to medical help at any time despite their whereabouts and take the immediate solution for their conditions. Consequently, this technological development renders the prevalence of searching for advice for ones’ diseases and symptoms from the Internet.

About the phenomenon, I hold the idea that it is significantly detrimental for two main reasons. Specifically, as individuals may lack proper knowledge about their illnesses or symptoms, their description can be erroneous, resulting in the misdiagnosis of one’s condition. Besides, since there is no available method to verify the quality or accuracy of the advice provided online, individuals' action of following such advice can aggravate their illnesses, affecting their health detrimentally. Consequently, it is not optimal to seek medical advice online.

To conclude, despite controversial schools of thought on determining the cause and impacts of using the Internet for medical help, I endorse the hypothesis that this phenomenon is negative. While it helps to save time and money for the users, there is no guarantee that such advice can improve individuals’ illnesses.