It is more important for governments to spend public money on promoting a healthy lifestyle in order to prevent illness than to spend it on treatment of people who are already ill. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people suggest that governments should allocate financial resources to encourage a healthy living style to prevent the development of illnesses instead of pouring money into treatments for sick people. Personally, I partly agree with the notion as governments should stress equal importance on both categories for the well-being of the general public.

On the one hand, it is essential that public expenditure be spent on the promotion of healthy lifestyles in order to increase citizens’ resistance to diseases. Specifically, a healthy lifestyle would require people to participate in more physical activities, adopt a balanced diet and eliminate harmful habits, directly benefiting individuals’ immune system and metabolism and lowering the possibility of acquiring illnesses. Therefore, governments’ provision of funding for campaigns and facilities that advocate healthy living ways will improve public health standards, which in turn reduces medical spending in the future.

On the other hand, authorities should also take into account patients with inevitable ailments, who are in great need of healthcare support. In fact, various hereditary diseases or injuries resulted from accidents cannot be prevented by taking preventative measures. Besides, under the pressure of working and studying, individuals may suffer from serious mental problems. If governments neglect such cases, timely treatments cannot be provided, which will aggravate the conditions or even lead to death. Consequently, public money should also be distributed to the treatment of already ill individuals.

To conclude, despite debatable opinions on determining how public financial resources should be used, I endorse the hypothesis that they should be distributed equally between the promotion of a healthy lifestyle and medical treatment. While the former hinders illnesses from developing, the latter improves the condition of many patients.