Intelligent robots will be more widely used in the future. Is this blessing or a curse?. What is your opinion?

There is no denying the fact that intelligent robots have been gaining more and more popularity in society. Whether or not this is a real boon for us is still under debate. Personally, I am in favour of the reasonable application of robots.

Without a shadow of a doubt, intelligent robots have brought about automation in a variety of fields ranging from manufacturing and aviation to space science. This has enabled the world economy to develop in leaps and bounds. Take the automobile industry, where mass production as well as incredibly precise assembly work are required. But for gigantic robotic arms with the productivity considerably higher than manual workers, the whole industry would be held back in consequence of a substantial drop in manufacturing output. Furthermore, by virtue of intelligent robots, we are able to prevent calamities to a certain extent. To be more detailed, geologists can take advantage of robots to explore unstable geological environments, such as abandoned mines, complex cave systems, or both dormant and active volcanos, thus making accurate predictions and giving hazard warnings in good time.

Intelligent robots may, nevertheless, bring on a wide range of long-term consequences. In practice, such high-tech products have been used in a great number of luxurious hotels and casinos in Las Vegas to serve as receptionists, room service attendants and bartenders, etc., making thousands of local workers likely to lose their jobs. If left unchecked, the widespread use of robots may breed a vast army of the unemployment, which will become not only social but also economic burdens to any government.

Ultimately, intelligent robots certainly are and will be a great blessing for the human race as long as they are kept under our control. If not, they can pose a considerable threat to our social stability.