International tourism has brought enormous benefits to many places. At the same time, there is concern about its impact on local inhabitants and the environment.

Do the disadvantages of international tourism outweigh the advantages?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words

There is no denying that international tourism has a significant influence on both local residents and the environment surrounding. In spite of strong arguments about its detrimental effects, I partly believe that its advantage could outweigh its disadvantage.

By all accounts, there are many evident reasons why it is argued that international tourism would lead to various harmful impacts on the environment and local people. When it comes to travelling, it is likely to cause an increasing amount of rubbish consumed by thousands of visitors, which makes the local authorities have difficulty processing them. If the landfills are out of control to keep them, rubbish will be directly thrown into the environment; which seems to be damaging towards wild species. Furthermore, more traditional values tend to disappear because of the development of international tourism. The young living next to tourism spots intend to be more familiar with modern and fashionable stuff which are brought by travellers. It means that the local people would quickly find their customs less interesting or suitable any more so that the tradition would be forgotten.

However, I find various positive effects that international tourism would be beneficial for local inhabitants and the environment. There is no doubt that more career opportunities relating to tourism such as service could be created. The young who no longer go to the big cities in order to find a job with a decent salary have chances to stay and build their hometown, thanks to the growth of international tourism. Besides, It is more preferable for the local government to approve financial investments which stem from government and private organizations for potential places located nearby tourism destinations. As a result, the environment including not only nature but also man-made ones could find more potential to be improved.

In conclusion, although many people would debate that international tourism creates many disadvantages, I personally think that it is right to some extent but its advantages could bring more for local citizens and the environment.