International tourism is now more common than ever before. Some feel that this is a positive trend, while others do not.

What are your opinions on this?

The past 50 years have seen a considerable increase in international tourism. Yet, there remains some disagreement as to whether the overall effect of this trend is positive or negative. I personally believe both views are valid, which will be discussed in the following essay.

First of all, it is an indisputable fact that travel industry brings economic prosperity to the host countries. It creates an alternative income for the local people, creates more jobs opportunities for people in services like hotels or restaurants. Secondly, when foreigners come to a new country, they have to spend a lot on goods and souvenirs. Therefore, it brings to revenue to the government in form of tax. Consequently, international tourism stimulates the overall economic growth. Moreover, in terms of travelers, traveling abroad is a great chance for them to unwind and have fun by sightseeing new places. Tourism broadens their horizons and opens their mind by exposing with others customs and cultures. International tourism also has potential to foster greater understanding between people of different cultures.

On the other hand, booming international tourist industry is a double-edged sword. Despite its pivotal role in the economy, environment degradation is the serious concern for the government in destination countries. One of the world’s most popular bays, Maya Bay in Thailand, has become gradually polluted by ocean debris in recent years. Therefore, it was closed indefinitely to recover from the damage caused by millions of tourists.

By the way of conclusion, international tourism creates both advantages and drawbacks for the host countries. The government should have a balance view to not only stimulate the economy but also preserve the natural beauty of the tourist destinations.