Internet social media have become very popular. To what extent do you think this is a good or bad thing? Why do you think this is the case?

As social media such as Facebook or Tiktok become increasing popular for the time being, the effects these platforms cause to their users has been a topic of broad interest to the public. In my opinion, the benefits from using the applications would outweigh their drawbacks.

There are merits associated with the use of social media include expansion of people's social circle and boost the effeciency of selling process as a marketing instrument. One of the main benefits of social media is that it encourages connection among people. This is rooted in the facts that their built in algorithm often introduces friends of friends, which is a practical function for people to find their long lost friends or relatives. From economic perspective, advertisement has been deployed as a useful advertisement tool nowsaday. Before signing up to these platfroms, users would be required to fill in their personal information that is then fed to the applications with demographic of the users. This is a valuable source of data that helps the media firms direct the adverts to targeted consumers. Thus, harnessing social media would help people to maintain and strengthen the bond with their relative or friends, while businessed could use it in order to generate more income.

Apart from explicit advantages, overuse of social media could pose a threat to internet users'health and lead them to make erronous desicion based on false information. Long exposure to screens while using social media is the main culprit of eye-related disease and acts as precedessor of an inactive lifestyle. It has been proved that the blue light originated of technical equipment has damaging effects on people' eyes. Similarly, by wasting time to watch meaningless videos on Tiktok, individuals would lose their time and energy to work on other priorities. Furthermore, it is common that criminals are using online media to manipulate internet users to steal their bank account or provide them with wrong information.

In sum, social media offer various advantages, albeit there are few pitfalls. I believe that their impacts would be more positive to society since the authorities are imposing restrictions to relieve these platforms of scrupulous acts.