It is becoming more and more difficult to escape the influence of media on our lives. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of living in a media-rich society.

Media evolvement and influence has had an increasing tendency during the last few decades. It is commonly used source of valuable information, new updates of promotions and generally the indispensable tool to recognize worldwide news. But despite multitude of advantages, the fast-paced spread of media involvement causes the range of people’s woes.

On the one hand, mass media provides population with global information exchange: we are able to acquire any knowledge from each part of our world. In other words, it increases people’s awareness about current issues worldwide and evaluate chances to be deceived. To be continued, it is obvious that mass media advancements offer a wide range of precious opportunities for self-development and extra studies. The Internet has a plethora of websites that collect and provide their users with extensive and reliable knowledge. The general examples could be Wikipedia and YouTube. For instance, the last one forces majority of students to simplify their learnings, research on various project works and case study, offering many videos from diverse backgrounds.

On the other hand, the wide spread of media influence has substantially detrimental effects on our society. It is commonly proven, that students and elderly people are addicted to the mass media information above all. Old ladies and men are plagued by television, news paper dependence, whereas students waste the majority of their leisure time online. Following, they are mostly depended on the false information, that contains political biases, monetary gaining and other social rubbish. Besides this, mass media absorbs the great deal of population time, which they can devote for sport, strengthening family bonds and self-realization. What leads to increasing level of susceptibility to line of illnesses: laziness, anxiety, obesity and other health disorders.

To conclude, I reckon that mass media disadvantages overweight its advantages. Nevertheless, it is rather impossible to imagine our current life without mass media involvement due to the high-fast trend of globalization. So, the best way for everyone to filter internet proficiency and utilize mass media information reasonably.