It is common an aspiration among many young people to run their own business, rather than work as an employer

Do you think the advantages of working for yourself outweight the drawbacks ?

Many people want to become independent and gain more work experience; thus, they decide to start up their own company. They believe that running a business has many advantages over working for someone else. Although there are obvious benefits to running their own business, I feel that the disadvantages are enormous.

As the first point of discussion, setting up your own business has several benefits. Firstly, you have the freedom to make your own decisions instead of following other choices, plan and manage your own company. You can also set the goals for the business yourself. Secondly, you will be able to get the credit and keep the profits if your company is successful. As a bright example, if you set up your own company, and you build a good reputation, you will be able to make substantial profits. Therefore, you will work hard, in order to make a success of your company.

However, despite these benefits, I believe that there are more problems for people to overcome. One is the financial burden; not only will you incur a large debt from the bank but also the amount to pay the employee's monthly salary and other expenses. This will be a huge amount of money and it often takes a long time to get paid by customers. In addition, if you make mistakes in your business decisions, your company faces many serious consequences including debts and can go bust.

To sum up, being independent and making your own decisions is something that can be found in working as an employee, but in my view, there is no doubt there are some risks associated with running your own business. Therefore, on balance, the challenges of starting up your business outweigh the advantages.