It has been said that reading improves our imagination and language skills better than watching TV.

Do you agree or disagree?

It is believed by some that books have a considerably more positive influence on our imagination as well as language development rather than viewing TV. This essay fully agrees with this statement, since reading allows people to create the scenery of events in their mind and helps to widen their vocabulary range.

Firstly, people can not see the heroes from the stories they read, but they can imagine them. In other words, people need to use their imagination and creativity in order to depict the exact hero by reading his description in the book. Narrative stories allow readers to immerse themselves into the book and feel the same emotions as their favourite characters do. According to the recent studies, people are more sensitive while reading compared to watching , since some readers can absorb the information in the way that is far more impressive for them. Therefore, when people are given a chance whether to read a simple book or watch a film, many of them opt for the former version.

Secondly, books can supply people with a wide range of vocabulary. This can be very beneficial for children to develop their language skills. Infants are not familiar with many words, so in the process of reading they can come across different unfamiliar words and their usage, the meaning of which they can comprehend from the context. The latest research has shown that an average adult, who has read a lot, can hardly have any difficulties during negotiations in his workplace in comparison with those who has preferred to watch TV. What is more, people, who read more can speak by using grammatically correct sentences with appropriate vocabulary . That is why reading is not only recreational but a useful activity as well.

To conclude, reading allows people to think, imagine, create and enrich their lexical resources , which are far more useful that watching TV that does not require the usage of creativity.