It is important for people to take risks, both in their professional lives and their personal lives.

Do you think the advantages of taking risks outweigh the disadvantages?

https://www.testbig.com/ielts-writing-task-ii-ielts-academic-essays/it-…

People have different attitudes towards taking risks in their career and private lives. Although risky decisions can bring potential downsides, I support the contention that risk takers have more benefits in the long term.

On the one hand, taking risk may cause short term setback and hurt a person. For exam, s student always relying on his parents in finance may find it difficult to have an indendent life if his parents stop providing money for him. The same can be true of taking gambles in one's career. The transition from field to field can result in losing high income from the old job. However, I do not think that short-term setbacks can be seen as a major disadvantage because risk takers can be paid off in the long run.

On the other hand, risky decisions bring new opportunities to human's lives. For instance, Priscilla Chan's grandparents were courageous to migrate from Vietnam to the US, so Chan had the opportunity to student in Havard university and here, she met and married Mark Zuckerberg. It is also true for James Joyce and William Burroughs who redefined what a novel could be by breaking the rules. As a result, they became giants in their field. I believe that risk takers profit a foundation for their personal growth and actualize their potentials.

In conclusion, the drawbacks are eclipsed the benefits in case people are not inordinately reckless or making decisions indiscriminately. I believe that taking risks is catalyst to expedite one's lives to a tremendous growth.