It is important for students to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

Having a clear definition between right and wrong may be tough for adults, as they face more challenges. However, educating this matter for children would be easier by giving them strict discipline. Although I totally agree that punishment is a great method of teaching children, only a few crucial measures should be considered. This essay will discuss the issue on both sides and demonstrate my viewing somehow.

To begin with, moral lessons would not only come from academic studying but also parental guidance. For instance, 10 years ago, about 75% of primary students in East Asian countries had been taught to be independent and well-mannered. Similarly, Western parents and teachers shared their special ways of reprimanding such as cleaning or home detention.

On the contrary, some parents can have extreme approaches which cause children to be mentally unstable and lead to dreadful outcomes. As for a matter, a recent survey had shown that 1/3 of young American citizens' childhood were abused for small mistakes, which made them have different traumas, having mental diseases or vulnerable to committing crimes. Nonetheless, physical sentences ought to be one of the least efficient and need to be excluded in raising young students' awareness. Those would solely result in worse consequences for the society.

In conclusion, taking considerations for a type of punishment can be important and greatly affect children's mental and physical growth. Since young pupils are usually innocent and easy to be taught, people should treat them with morality and share meaningful experiences.