it is impossible to help all people in the world, so governments should only focus on people in their own countries. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people think that government should only support their own citizens instead of taking care of people in other countries. While it is true that focusing on domestic people is given high priority, I would argue that it is also feasible to help others worldwide.

To begin with, there are some reasons while governments should focus first on people in their nations. First, people pay tax to form their governments’ budgets, which requires governments to allocate efficiently the money back so as to improve the living standard of their citizens. Second, due to the limited budgets, governments have to act for the sake of their inhabitants by investing money first in various vital sectors in their countries, such as public health service or education. If the government spend excessively on providing aids for other countries, they will not have enough resources to meet the increasing need of their citizens.

However, I believe that it is also possible to help residents from other parts of the world. The first reason is since rich countries often have overwhelming resources, compared to impoverished ones, only small donations or technical support from the former could tackle extremely serious problems in the later. For example, Western countries sent doctors and equipment to help African countries cope with the outbreak of the Ebola virus epidemic arising in 2014. If the western nations had not helped, the number of deaths from the disease would have increased enormously. The other reason is that since the act of supporting other people promote the sense of humanity, people in the nation supporting others might be really proud of their government.

In conclusion, while concentrating efforts on improving their citizens’ life is the primary role of governments, they should also spare a certain resource for assisting other from other nations.