It is a natural process for animal species to become extinct (e.g. dinosaur, dodo…) There is no reason why people should try to prevent this from happening. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In many countries, there are a great deal of campaigns or schemes founded in order to protect endangered species. However, a certain number of people believe that extinction is a naturally occurring phenomenon that has occurred on Earth since life began, thus there is no compelling reason for us to do so. This essay argues that it is highly critical to deter animals from becoming extinct and will explain further reasons.

It is undeniable that centuries ago, many ancient species, such as dinosaurs, were wiped out due to a gradual shift of climate or rising sea level. This is not the primary cause resulting in the disappearance of animals nowadays though. Human activities like agriculture, industrialization and poaching should be the main factors which push creatures to this dreadful situation. In light of the fact that the world population is increasing exponentially, we have to sacrifice natural habitats for farming as well as constructing infrastructures and houses. Moreover, there are poachers who sell animal’s body parts in the black market. Elephant tusks, rhino horns or leopard skins are the most exorbitant. Although everyone has a special affection for wildlife, not anyone knows how to preserve it.

Other justifications for saving wild animals involve the significant roles that they play in not only the balance of the ecosystem but also our lives. Everything in nature is connected, if one species happens to become extinct, others could be affected detrimentally as the food chain is disrupted. Wild animals also have great aesthetic and sociocultural values. They contribute to our rich biodiversity that makes this planet a beautiful place. In numerous places around the world, many types of animals play an essential role in various cultures.To illustrate, in some religions, cows are revered and worshiped as gods.

In conclusion, there is a distinction between extinction caused by environmental and human-related factors. It is our duty to preserve and protect animals as their presence has a crucial influence on us in many aspects.