It is now possible for scientists and tourists to travel to remote natural environments, such as the South pole. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, the development of technology makes it possible for scientists and tourists to explore remote places, such as the South pole. In my opinion this trend has negative and positive effects.

On the one hand, visiting isolated natural places could raise the knowledge of humans about the habitat. Scientists could investigate the climate, weather, geology and wildlife of unique regions. After that, they could continue to research recorded data on the laboratory. For example, if scientists had not travelled to Antarctica, they could not know the fast decrease of polar bears to have an immediate solution. Moreover, they could forecast that white bears may become extinct over the next 50 years. Meanwhile, when setting foot in untouched places, the spectacles of nature could satisfy tourists’ curiosity as well as raising their appreciation of the natural environment.

On the other hand, the appearance of human beings could impact significantly on the isolated places. Travelling activities are one of the main causes of environmental pollution and degradation. For instance, tourists often throw trash such as disposable plastic items. Unfortunately, wild animals may eat these and they could face dangerous situations. Moreover, some natural places could be modified or even destroyed to build recreational areas and hotels to serve visitors. As a result, it reduces biodiversity and puts wild animals at risk of extinction. Therefore, tourism activities bring many disadvantages for isolated areas.

In conclusion, exploring untouched places has many benefits for science and widens human horizons. However, those activities also are a detriment to the natural environment.