In some countries, small town-centre shops are going out of business because people tend to drive to large out-of-town stores. As a result, people without cars have limited access to out-of-town stores, and it may result in an increase in the use of cars.

Do you think the disadvantages of this change outweigh its advantages?

In many countries, small town-centre shops are threatened to close because they can not compete with the large stores that are based on the outskirts. This leads to a number of consequences, including a rise in car usage and access to large out-of-town stores becoming limited for those without cars. In my opinion, this change has more disadvantages and here are my reasons.

The trend towards shopping in the larger stores has many negative impacts for the environment as well as locals' lives. More and more shoppers going to the large shops would lead to traffic congestion. Additionally, gas emissions released from cars are the main factors of environmental pollution. Moreover, many poor families in their hometown have to save money to buy a car instead of improving the quality of their family life. MoreoverAs a result, buying a car forces them to work arduously.

Besides, closing a small town-centre shop could pose local citizens in unemployment situations. If they can not earn money in their hometown, more and more people would immigrate to the big city to find jobs. Therefore, metropolises become overpopulated and it causes an increase in the number of social issues such as crimes, pollution and diseases. Moreover, people without cars buying products in large stores could (get) create many inconvenient problems. Vietnam is a typical example that people do not tend to purchase food in the market centres, because (this) my country has many local markets that could meet citizen’s demand with a variety of food even fresher than shopping centres.

In conclusion, this change in people’s shopping brings many disadvantages to citizens living in their hometown.