Today there are plenty of opposing opinions as to whether governments should dedicate a considerable part of their budget to reinstating run-down buildings or not. It is claimed that public purse should be expended on the construction of new and safer buildings. While I agree with this point of view to some extent, I also believe that the reconditioning of certain dilapidated buildings is necessary.

On the one hand, I claim that most buildings which were constructed ages ago could pose a threat to residents living inside or nearby. These buildings are highly vulnerable to extreme weather conditions such as a hurricane or minor earthquake. In other words, they can trigger regrettable loss of life and property when abruptly collapsing. In addition, most ancient buildings are of little economic value and often derelict due to being uninhabitable to dwellers. Nowadays, people prefer to live in modern and fully equipped houses rather than in a tilted and rickety apartment block. From an economic perspective, restoration is actually a waste of resources, especially if that building is located in a city center where profitability of the property is always the top priority. As a consequence, it is my view that governments should spend this money to construct more fortified and economically valuable ones.

However, some ancient buildings should be preserved due to their cultural and historical values. Historic buildings which have existed throughout different periods of history might be symbolic of a city or country. The collapse of such architectural works will inflict damage on local cultural heritage and in many cases deprive locals of a substantial source of tourist income. Therefore, it is understandable that many people oppose widespread destruction and and call for the preservation of these age-old buildings.

In conclusion, although we should restore historically significant old buildings constructed by previous generations, I believe that overly run-down and culturally or economically worthless buildings have to be superseded by new ones for safety if they are situated near residential areas.