Nowadays people hold different opinions about whether people should eat imported food or not. Some people think that it is completely appropriate when the quality of humans’ life is higher than before. In my opinion, I think that this tendency has positive and negative effects.

On the one hand, eating food from other regions could provide people with a highly nutritious diet. Some nutritious fruits can not be grown in local places but it has greater benefits in promoting health and preventing disease. For instance, Vietnam’s weather is not appropriate to grow some fruits such as kiwis, blueberries and cherries which have higher nutrition than some local fruits, our country needs to import these fruits to meet local consumers’ demand. Moreover, the importation of food promotes the development of transportation and logistics. It creates employment for local people and contributes to solving the unemployment problems. Therefore, eating food from other regions has positive effects.

On the other hand, the price of imported fruits is alway higher than local fruits but they have the same quality. Consumers could save money by purchasing local food rather than imported food. Additionally, the transportation and preservation process could reduce food nutrition. For instance, Australian fruits do not retain their typical flavour after a few weeks of delivery to my country by sea freight. Moreover, the consumption of imported food products makes national agriculture develop slowly = stagnate and decrease farmers’ income significantly. Therefore, imported food has many negative effects on the development of the national economy.

In conclusion, although there are many benefits from/of having access to a wide variety of foods, eating food from other regions also has many negative effects.