It is the responsibility of schools to teach children good behaviour in addition to provide formal education. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

People recognise schools as places that should not only impart theoretical knowledge but also guide students to become rule-abiding and well-behaved. I totally agree with this idea and I will analyse it in this essay.

It is undeniably that schools should play an important role in the formation of pupils' personalities and behavioural habits. To begin with, good behaviour and morality are essential for children's personal development and they are superior to the academic performance. For example, people can hardly accept a talent who is inferior in moral and has potential harmfulness to others. By contrast, a well-behaved normal people may make more contribution to the society. Besides, with better behaviour, children will also abide the rules more, which can obviously improve their learning efficiency in class as a consequence. In addition, with building up the sense of respecting rules, the whole society will suffer less from illegal activities and this is beneficial to make the community become more harmonious.

However, at the same time some people argue that even though good behaviour is important, it should not be taught in school. Their main concern is that children's school time is relatively short compared with stay at home and the precious time should not be occupied by issues other than the learning of basic knowledge. They also assert that it is the parents' responsibility to conduct children's good behaviour. I think this opinion is partial because children's moral education should be commonly accomplished by schools and parents. From primary school stage, children may spend at least six or seven hours in school. With their fast imitating abilities, they are easily influenced by their surroundings. Therefore, if they are not correctly directed by teachers, it is probable for them to have misbehaviours or even violent the rules.

In conclusion, schools should shoulder the responsibility to regulate students' behaviour in addition of basic knowledge, and the moral education should be emphasised in every school.