It's important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviors to children?

Give reasons and relevant example from your knowledge and experiences.

Many people believe that children should be taught to differentiate between right and wrong at a very young age. I totally agree with this and think that imposing suitable punishments is necessary to teach them good manners.

The early years of a child's life are the most important age for them to be educated about the distinction between right and wrong. It is when they are developing emotional awareness and social behaviors. The outside world is so tempting that children instinctively explore the world by watching and interacting with things in it. Therefore, they can be easily affected by everything they see and hear, such as television programs and family members. And if they see violence and hear offensive language, they will imitate it because they do not know it is wrong. This is where instant discipline can be used effectively, and, over time, bad behaviors can be eliminated and good behaviors encouraged.

Parents and teachers should find appropriate punishments that are not detrimental mentally and physically to children. Hence, scolding and spanking must be excluded as they have negative effects on the children’s psychology and create habit of lying to avoid physical harm. For instance, when children do wrong things such as misbehaving or telling a lie, adults should steer them to more acceptable actions with patience and kindness. Also, parents may ask them to walk to school rather than taking them in the family cars as well as require them to do extra chores for a week. This not only helps them realize that they have behaved improperly but also increases will to reform and do better.

In conclusion, it seems to me that fitting punishments play an irreplaceable role in early children education as disciplinary actions are effective methods of teaching.