Every year several languages die out. Some people think that it is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Some people think that it would be better to have several languages become extinct each year. While this situation has some obvious merits, I also argue that languages play an irreplaceable role in terms of cultural diversity and our lives as well.

First, one of the most outstanding benefits of extinction of languages is breaking the language barrier and creating mutual understanding. This means that it is easier for people all around the world to socialize and interact with each other on a day-to-day basis. Furthermore, different cultures would integrate and it would be more effective for international trade as well as globalization. Second, this trend cuts down discrimination among people of different social status. For instance, in Viet Nam, people who can speak English tend to look down on people cannot because English speakers are seen as high-status individuals.

On the other hand, languages are undoubtedly one of the most distinctive features representing the identity of a community. Many thousand-year-old documents describing customs and traditions of ancient civilizations have been written with their own languages. Therefore, when one language is no longer used, the culture attached to it fades away. At the same time, if the disappearance of languages is considered normal, our children would not respect and preserve their own national characters. Language would become a means of communication only, which leads to the unintentional acceptance of global loss of language diversity.

In conclusion, while the dying out of languages has several merits, it also has negative impacts on our lives; hence, languages should be protected and passed on to the next generations.