College is not the only way to success

Some people believe that getting a degree from a university or college is not the best way to have a successful career. However, I partly agree with this view as I believe that people should have a degree in their profession.

According to some people, working right after finishing high school has many surprising benefits. First, it is a chance for young people to have their first experiences to earn money. More and more stories about self-made millionaires have been told as example of someone who gained incredible success without attaining a college education. They are living testimony showing that it is one’s social experiences and skills that lead to remarkable achievements. Second, making a living is demanding but definitely the fastest way to become a mature adult. The young learn the value of money and are more careful with each penny spent once they enter the workforce.

On the other hand, in reality, higher education is a more popular choice for several reasons. First of all, to get employed by prestigious companies, applicants are expected to meet certain requirements which include graduation with a four-year degree. They are more likely to have a well-paid job and promising opportunities for future promotion. Furthermore, college provides the young with not only speciality knowledge but also suitable health care. They are well-prepared both mentally and physically and use everything they have learnt as a stepping stone to cope with the ups and downs of life.

In conclusion, going to college or working has its own advantages but in my opinion, schooling is a more promising option.