It is said that the best way to solve the world's environmental problems is to increase the price of fuel. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that the best measure to deal with the world’s environmental problem is to raise the cost of fuel. While this approach is effective to some degree, there are other better measures that the government should take into consideration

On the on hand, I accept that increasing the price of fuel is an efficient way to tackle environmental problem. In fact, private vehicles such as cars or motorbikes are a main cause for the air pollution worldwide as they produce a lagre amount of carbon dioxide which greatly contributes to the greenhouse gas effect. Therefore, if the cost of fuel were excessively exorbitant, people would be motivated to leave their cars at home and rely on public transport , waliking or cycling to commute to work. Such an initiative would gradually form a habit of walking and cycling among occupied individuals, which positively affects the improvement of air quality. In addition, with the price of fuel increased by governments, people might have to economize on their daily consumption of energy. As a result, the amount of natural resources such as water or oil which is exploited to supply electricity or ennergy on a global scale might be reduced, which can have good influences on the environment.

On the other hand , I still believe that there are several more effective measures for the governments to solve the world's environmental problem. First, the government should launch national campaigns in order to heighten public awareness of the importance of environmental protection. By doing this, the amount of rubbish illegally released into the environment might be reduced, leading to a decrease in the levels of pollution worldwide. Second , more state money should be invested in advanced technologies which are environmentally-friendly and provide renewable energy. This will considerably minimize the harmful exhaust produced by the combustion of fossil fuels to generate electricty and slow the pace of climate change.

In conclusion, while raising the price of fuel might be beneficial to tackle environmental problems, some other methods should also be given equal consideration.