Large businesses have big budgets for marketing and promotion and as a result, people gravitate towards buying their products. What problems does this cause? What could be done to encourage people to buy local products?

Major international conglomerates have been increasing their market share by spending gigantic funds on advertisements. This has threatened numerous local businesses and impacted detrimentally on buyers due to more expensive cost or Illusory advertising. The government alongside individuals need to come together to support the small-scale businesses.

One of the paramount problems caused by attractive campaigns on television and social media of big companies can threat to local traders which have a tight budget to spend on appealing marketing and promotion. When big businesses carry out a promotional campaign, the customers only pay attention and buy their products, ignoring products of small traders. For example, well-known brands in manufacturing soft drink such as Coca-Cola or Pepsi spend a huge amount of money on advertising in over the world, as a result, everyone buys their products and skips other small brands. This problem leads to the closure of small businesses and the jobless of thousands of people.

There are two effective ways for local businesses to compete with international giants are to provide personal services and financially support by the government. First of all, the government had better allocate sufficient funds to encourage local brands. This solution can help small companies have abilities to pay expenses such as locations or loans. Furthermore, individuals play major part in encouraging local brands. For instance, rather than buying a big company’s products, they should try local products and review them on social media in order to help local companies in sales of product.

In conclusion, big companies are always a huge competition for local businesses and can threat to their survival. However, these problems can be handled with the appropriate actions from authorities and people.