Large companies use sports events to promote their products. Some people think this has a negative impact on sports. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Regarding the issue of advertisement, there has been a considerable controversy about making use of sports events for products’ promotion. From my perspective, albeit certain drawbacks, the merits are far more significant.

On the one hand, adverts in sports can exert devastating impacts on both individuals and societal level. Undoubtedly, constant advertisements can cause annoyance and disturbance as they spoil the games which the television viewers can do nothing but accept them passively. Take the football matches as examples, there are numerous intervals during 90 minutes for commercial purposes, affecting the mood of the fan. Additionally, some conglomerates also have celebrities endorsement, which can divert the spectators’ attention to the products rather than the events. It is beyond doubt that advertising commodities via sports events can result in conflict of interest. In fact, the performers, teams and even the whole championship are manipulated to suit the sponsors, deceiving the sports fan and making it injustice for others.

On the other hand, commercing goods during sports events can derive innumerable benefits. Evidently, without excessive amount of money sponsored by large businesses, some sports events can not afford to be organised . For instance, only by millions of dollars received by commercials can the FIFA Championship cover revenue costs, equipment, publicity…. Were there not sponsorship, the tickets’ price may be exorbitant; as a result, individuals would be discouraged from engaging in such occasions and the organisations may encounter bankruptcy. Furthermore, due to the enormous quantity of sports fans, advertisements can boost sales, bolster the companies’ images and have the entrepreneurs have higher revenue.

In conclusion, it is obvious that the advantages of commodities’ promotion in sports outweigh the demerits. It is highly recommended that the governments should restrict the amount of time that the adverts appeared.